+31 6 3722 8161

latest news

  • January 2022

    Orchid Classics announces

    Orchid Classics announces the Spring release of Chopin's Four Ballades and Sonata 3 performed by Korean pianist Jae-Hyuck Cho and recorded in the Leibniz Salle in Hannover.  Michael Fine produced the recording with Jin Choi, engineer. As Michael Fine said: 

    Jae-Hyuck Cho is a complete artist: sovereign technique, a deep knowledge of the score, a rare and rarified musical imagination and a palpable sense of joy in making music.  Every take brings something new to consider but always within the context of the composer's aesthetic.  I often leave the sessions with enough material to make multiple and very different but always superb versions of each piece we record. This makes every recording a voyage of musical discovery for both of us.  The first take is already at a high level, well prepared, thought out and executed but where we end up sets the bar even higher.  This Chopin recital, recorded in Hannover's historic Leibniz Saal, is particularly beautiful combining virtuosity and poetry in equal measure.  I hope you enjoy listening as much as I enjoyed producing this recording.
  • December 2021

    "Finding Home," a recording of music by Aaron Copland

    "Finding Home," a recording of music by Aaron Copland, Michael Fine, Aaron Kernis, and Serge Prokofiev conducted by Philip Mann with Ensemble Bravura will be released on SONY Classics in Spring 2022.  The recording, produced by Michael Fine at Texas Tech University, features three world premieres. As Maestro Mann eloquently said: Our interest was in making a recording that included a selection of composers of Russian and Jewish heritage who all spent significant time composing in and being influenced by America.  The title “Finding Home” alludes to this shared experience of composers who were/are citizens of the world, influenced by multiple traditions (particularly French compositional practices) but who found America as a home and source of inspirationMichael Fine - Finding Home from Suite for Strings - Ensemble Bravura conducted by Philip Mann

  • November 2021

    Following the incredible success of Emotions which we recorded with Gautier Capuçon

    Following the incredible success of Emotions which we recorded with Gautier Capuçon, we spent a week in beautiful Rennes, the capital city of Bretagne, with the great French cellist, pianist and arranger Jérôme Ducros, conductor Johanna Malangré and the Orchestre National de Bretagne for a recording of popular and classical favorites in stunning new arrangements. 

  • August 2021

    Planning has begun on a new recording of Habaneras

    Planning has begun on a  new recording of Habaneras to be performed by Cuban-Italian soprano Monica Marziota and an ensemble of musicians from France and Holland.  The recording will trace the history of this fascinating genre from its beginnings in Cuba.  Michael Fine met Ms Marziota when he was composer-in-residence at Habana Clasica.  The recording is planned for this winter at MCO5 studio in Hilversum with Erdo Groot, engineer.
  • August 2021

    Michael Fine has posted two new videos of his music on YouTube:

    Michael Fine has posted two new videos of his music on YouTube: 'Finding Home' from the Suite for Strings and the premiere of 'A Time of Uncertainties' played by Ensemble Bravura at Texas Tech University conducted by Philip Mann: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6D8G1po6Qg and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qfr0Ju6kss4