+31 6 3722 8161

latest news

  • July 2011

    The Seoul Philharmonic's first recording under the new DGG contract will be released in July.

    Maestro Myung Whun Chung leads the orchestra in a program of Debussy and Ravel. The recording was produced and edited by Michael Fine. The Seoul Philharmonic plays in Amsterdam's Concertgebouw, the Edinburgh Festival, Grafenegg, and opens the Bremen Musikfest in August.

  • July 2011

    Music Web International

    "Praise too here for the engineering and production of the disc. Ace producer Michael Fine and his engineer Wolf-Dieter Karwatky have created a disc of demonstration quality. There is a wealth of orchestral detail—including extended ‘ethnic’ percussion and a vast dynamic range all of which has been captured without excessive spotlighting of instruments. Add to that the need to integrate the solo line believably into the sound picture and the fact that the second concerto was recorded live—not that one is aware of any extraneous sounds or fallible playing for an instant—and you can see that the scale of what they have achieved is very impressive indeed. The same can be said of the playing of the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra under Lothar Zagrosek. It says something about the stature of Naxos as a label that established performers of such stature appear here as a matter of course ... Indeed, I would go as far as saying that this is one of the finest concerto discs from Naxos that I have heard. On the strength of his performance here I will look forward to hearing more from cellist Mark Kosower." Read the entire review

  • July 2011

    Michael Fine conducts Opole Philharmonic

    Michael Fine conducted the Opole Philharmonic in the final concert of the orchestra's season.

  • June 2011

    Next recordings include a disc with French clarinetist Julien Herve to be called 'A Tribute to Benny Goodman'

    Next recordings include a disc with French clarinetist Julien Herve to be called 'A Tribute to Benny Goodman'  The disc will be recorded in Trappes, France.  In August, Michael will record Tchaicovsky's Symphony 6 and Mussorgsky's Pictures with Mo. Myung Whun Chung and the Seoul Philharmonic

  • May 2011

    Fine Sound Productions has had a busy spring.

    Fine Sound Productions has had a busy spring.  In late March, we traveled to Prague to record the legendary Korea soprano Sumi Jo in a program ranging from Andrew Lloyd Webber to Bellini in celebration of the 25th anniversary of her debut this September.  The Prague Philharmnonia under Ondrej Lenard accompanied Sumi in the Rudolfinum.  Michael Fine produced with Jin Choi, engineer.  Michael also finished mixing the Faure Complete Chamber Music Project  with Wolf-Dieter Karwatky– five CDs for EMI to be released later this year.  The second edit of Julius Kim's recording of the Rachmaninoff ‘5th Concerto’ and Shostakovitch 2nd Piano Concert has just been finished as well.